2 min read
Design Engineering

I was all in on the indie game grind, dreaming of pixelated empires under the banner of “xoboid”. The allure of gamedev was intoxicating, promising a life immersed in creativity and code. Like many, that dream eventually faded into the background as the demands of the real world took precedence. I traded controllers for keyboards, diving deep into JavaScript.

While building web apps brought its own rewards, there was an undeniable void. I missed the heady mix of art and engineering that game development offered - the rapid-fire iterations, the problem solving, the sheer unbridled creativity. It was a world where one moment you’re sculpting a cute cat, and the next you’re solving complex physics simulations.

Then I discovered the web could be more than just a static display of information. Technologies like Three.js ignited a spark, transforming the web into a canvas as vast and dynamic as any game engine.

As I fell deeper into this rabbit hole, I stumbled upon the term “Design Engineer.” It resonated deeply. It was as if someone had given a name to the skills I was striving for.

Its a journey, for sure, one filled with both challenges and exhilaration. But with every line of code, every pixel pushed into place, I’m getting closer to that sweet spot where art and engineering converge.

Further Reading

Design Engineering at Vercel